Lazy French Toast

I’m a lazy person sometimes. By this I don’t mean the lazy where you stay in your pajamas all day and watch movies (though that can be fun too), I mean the lazy in which you find the easiest way possible to get the thing you want. And today I wanted french toast for lunch.

Of course french toast is a lunch food. It’s got egg, which is protein, bread  which is the carby part, and raisins which make up part of your daily dose of vege. The three basic food groups, yay it must be healthy! It’s also a teatime food, a dinner food, and a midnight snack food.

It’s also a pain as I don’t really like standing over the stove sweating away, especially just after getting up in the morning.

But, I decided, today is going to be a french toast day. Yesterday was meant to be a french toast day but the Tahiti Crepe was too much of a temptation to resist (strawberry compote + strawberry coulis + creme chantilly = amazing). This left me thinking of french toast late last night and thinking of food late at night, especially when you don’t have any, is a bad idea. I’m really not an obsessive person.

Lazy French Toast

Stolen and edited from Smitten Kitchen. But I didn’t invite anyone over, I just ate it all myself.

Bread – 4 slices. Any bread should be alright.
Eggs – 2
Milk – a bit more than a cup
Cinnamon
Raisins
Honey

  1. Beat your eggs, add milk. The mixture should be a bit milky, and not too thick. Dump in cinnamon to taste (as you can see, I like cinnamon).
     
  2. Layer your bread into an oven-proof dish, put raisins between the layers. I think chocolate chips, fresh fruit, or any other random snack would have been nice too.
  3. Pour the egg on to the bread, and leave it in the fridge for about an hour to soak in.
  4. Put the bowl into the oven for about 15 minutes at 220 degrees C. If you are extra lazy like me and don’t want to wait for the oven to heat up, put it in a toaster oven for about 15 minutes. Make sure it doesn’t burn!
  5. Add honey and eat it by yourself in bed watching a movie. I did say it was lazy french toast.

 

Oh hello there

