In Praise of Simple Vegetables

This is one of my absolute favourite ways of eating kangkung, but I can never figure out how to do it. It’s crunchy, and fragrant, not overly sauced or spiced. Comfort food at its finest.

But: no matter what combination of garlic, onion, chilli, udang kering I try, it never never works for me. I don’t know why. It makes me sad. It looks so easy, why won’t it work for me! Why, why, why?!

BFoot cooked this last night, and I immediately harassed him until he told me how he did it. I’m still suspicious as to whether this will work for me. Well, at least this time I’ll have it written down and can try again.

Stirfried Kangkung with udang kering

Serves 4 – 6, reduce as needed

1 large bunch of kangkung, enough for 4 – 6
1 whole garlic, chopped
Half an onion, chopped
2 chillis, sliced
A handful of udang kering, washed in warm water (dried prawns, small ones)
A few splashes of light soya sauce
Salt to taste

  1. Throw the garlic, onion, and chilli in a wok, and stir fry until the onions are soft.
  2. Add the udang kering and fry for a bit until the garlic is fragrant, but not crunchy. Add a soya sauce, equivalent to about 2-3 tablespoonfuls
  3. Mix in the kangkung and fry until limp
  4. Add salt to taste

This is a bit deceptively easy, and he laughed at me when I said it never worked for me. Laughed a lot. I don’t think this is any laughing matter. Apparently it’s a “no fail” recipe. Well, the purpose of this blog (for me anyway) is as much a store of unwritten recipes, as much as it is a journey through those that succeed…

Here’s a picture of kangkung cooked in a similar style stolen from the internet. Because I forgot to take any photos, because I was too excited. All credits to the linked photographer. My pics will be added next time! 🙂

Oh hello there

