Happy Mother’s Pie

A bit of a belated post – I suppose you can now see approximately how much lag time I have between cooking and posting, my patient reader.

And a belated happy mother’s day. For mother’s day, my mum requested an apple pie.

I guess given how much nonsense I pull sometimes, my long suffering mother definitely deserves apple pies on mother’s day.

Check out the "creative" lattice work

Surprised as me? It actually looks relatively presentable. I was not expecting that. My poor mother, I make pies “for her” but they’re actually experiments. Could have gone horribly wrong (don’t stare too hard at the crust, you’ll suddenly notice it isn’t latticed properly and one of your eyes will start to twitch).

The crust on this pie has a hint of cheddar, and I amped up the spices loads compared to the original recipe. I was also too lazy to pre-cook the apples and it turned out fine. You know me by now.

A note on the forgiving nature of pies: I forgot to put about half the butter in the crust; it still tasted nice and crisp with a slight cheddar sharpness. I do apologise my dear apple pie. I’m sure you will be way more awesome when the total amount of butter is added. Things can only get better! ūüôā

Apple Pie with a Cheddar Crust

Adapted from Poh’s Kitchen, butter forgotten, no food processor, and spice mix completely disregarded. If I can do it you can too!

Crust

2 ¬Ĺ cups plain flour – I substituted a gluten-free flour
190g unsalted butter,¬†coarsely¬†grated from the freezer is easiest – I only used 100g…let’s try and forget this ever happened
170g sharp cheddar, coarsely grated
¬Ĺ cup cold water
¬Ĺ teasp salt

  1. Mix salt with flour
  2. Add grated butter (still cold!) and rub it into the flour with your fingertips (yes…I left my chopper in Melbourne. I miss him). You need to get a bread crumb-like texture.
  3. Rub the grated cheese into the flour. If it doesn’t rub in like the butter, it isn’t the end of the world (mine didn’t). Just make sure that all the cheese is relatively well distributed in the flour mixture.
  4. Add water…only a bit at a time. You only need enough water for the mixture to just hold its shape.
  5. Divide into half, smush into two balls and refrigerate in cling wrap for at least half an hour.
In the meantime, make the Apple Filling

800g of peeled and roughly chopped apples (about 8 or so). I used a mix of green and red. Pie tip: apparently the large red delicious apples aren’t good for pies because of their structure. Don’t quote me there, I haven’t tried it out!
1/3 cup plain flour – I substituted gluten-free flour
¬Ĺ cup brown sugar
1 tablesp ground cinnamon Рyes I do, I do like my spices
¬Ĺ¬†teasp ground ginger
¬Ĺ¬†teasp ground nutmeg
Probably nice with some raisins ūüôā

  1. Peel and chop the apples. Put them in a big bowl
  2. Add flour, sugar, and spices. And raisins if you have them. 
  3. Mix mix!

Then, it’s time to get artistic! As you can see…I’m not.¬†
Build the pie!
Dish – I used a shallow 28cm diameter pie dish
Crust from the fridge
Chopped apple filling
50g unsalted butter, diced into little cubes
1 egg, lightly whisked (for glazing)
A little caster sugar for dusting the pastry

  1. Preheat the oven to 200 degrees C.
  2. Get the crust out of the fridge and let it soften up for about 10 minutes.
  3. Take half, roll out on a floured surface until about 3mm thick, or slightly thicker. Transfer into your pie dish as best you can without breaking it – I used a big spatula to try and pick the crust up. If it breaks, nobody will ever know. It’s not like they’re going to tip your pie upside down and inspect it. Just add more crust and squash it in the hole to fix it. Leave a bit of an overhang on the outside for crimping if you know how to do those fancy things.¬†
  4. Add the apples and shake them around until distributed relatively evenly. 
  5. Randomly put blobs of butter on top of the apples.
  6. Make the lattice! And crimp the edges! Clearly I don’t know how to do this. If it makes you feel any better, I simply cut strips and stuck then across the pie in a random order, perpendicular to each other across the pie. Then I squished the ends into the crust. If you want a proper tutorial I suggest you follow the link, I’m not at all qualified to teach you how to make a lattice or crimp anything at all ūüôā¬†
  7. Throw it in the oven and bake at 200 degrees C for 15 minutes
  8. Remove, and brush on the eggwash. Sprinkle some sugar on the top. This is the big cheat, and how you make your pie look pretty even though the latticework all broke.
  9. Stick it back in the oven at 180 degrees C for 35 to 45 minutes. Mine was fine at 40 minutes. 
  10. Serve immediately! Don’t bother waiting for it to cool, why would you eat cold apple pie??? Add ice cream, or whipped cream, or vanilla yoghurt if you’re pretending to be healthy. Try not to burn your mouth.
Oh hello there

