Raita is a Vegetable

Raita is what I make when I need a vege dish to go with my rice, and I don’t want to cook anything else. Yes, I know its a dip not a dish. No, I don’t care. I don’t care because when I have it in restaurants, I eat loads of it by itself with rice… so, I suppose that makes it a vegetable in my world.

Okay, come scold me now for my raita-mangling, I’m prepared for the onslaught!

This goes especially well with something spicy because the yoghurt and cucumber un-spicy-fies everything when your mouth has caught fire. That happens to me a lot, because I get a bit over excited with the chilli powder/dried chilli/chilli flakes/fresh chilli. I also often get it in my eyes, but it doesn’t help much for that. Don’t put raita on your face. Though people do use cucumber and yoghurt in face masks. Hm.

I suspect I’ve completely destroyed this recipe (as I seem to do with Indian recipes.. sorry). But I like it! It tasted good! So here’s the poor recipe I messed with if you want to meddle with Indian recipes too. I think I should probably call all my Indian recipes “Indian inspired” rather than “Indian”.

That’s it from me, I’m not feeling particularly inspired to write today. I suppose this is one of those posts which is more Lea-using-blog-as-recipe-binder rather than Lea-using-blog-as-excuse-to-ramble-weirdly-and-publicly. Everyone has those days right? A slice of cake and a cup of tea, and all will be well (and verbose) again. I’ll have a cup of tea now, actually.

Lea’s Mangled Raita

Taken from Niya’s World and abused. She didn’t have cucumber in it. I think it was meant to be a yoghurt dip. Oops.

1 cucumber, chopped
1/2 a tub of plain yoghurt – that’s about 200ml but a bit more or a bit less is fine
3 cloves of garlic
1/3 of a red onion – also an approximate measure, I had a big onion, if yours is small use a bit more
1/2 a teasp cumin seeds
A pinch of salt and a pinch of black pepper
A little chopped fresh coriander to garnish, if you have it (I didn’t)

  1. Chop the garlic and fry it in a little oil. Cheat like me and blitz it in the microwave (on high, in a mug or a ramekin) in a little oil for about 30 seconds. If you use a mug, you had better designate a garlic-mug, because it makes the mug smell like garlic :). Leave it sizzling on the countertop, it’ll go a nice golden brown after a minute or two.
  2. Fry the cumin seeds in a little oil, until they dance and start to smell nice. No cheating with this one, because you need to watch that they don’t burn. Sorry team lazy. If I figure out how long this takes in the microwave, and at what setting, you’ll be the first to know.
  3. Chop the cucumber into little chunks. Also chop the onion.
  4. Mix the yoghurt, onion, garlic (which has cooled a bit by now), cumin seeds, salt, pepper, and coriander (if you have it). Then, pour in the cucumbers and mix some more. Tadaa! Easy veg.
Oh hello there

