Peace Offering Cupcakes

These are cupcakes were say: sorry for being a useless communicator, I didn’t RSVP for the party, but here I stand at your door. No I didn’t check the Facebook invite, I haven’t really been using Facebook much, at least not properly. Sorry I’ve been so busy working for the last month that we haven’t met for dinner. Here’s some cupcakes. We cool? Please don’t throw me in the swimming pool.

I suspect it was really about me feeling guilty. Cupcakes aren’t generally the chattiest bunch, on the whole.

   

This was the first time I brought homemade cupcakes to a party. One fell on the floor. Surprisingly, another guest had a much stronger, sadder, reaction than me. I suppose that means they were good? Someone else tried to eat one that had been covered with silly string. Apparently it still tasted nice. I hope he felt okay the next day.

 

The influx of sweet recipes here recently is also a direct consequence of my move back home for 6 months. Since I’ve been at home, I haven’t really had the opportunity to cook much in terms of savoury dishes. But, what I have found is that there is no faster way to grease the wheels of any request than with the promise of something edible that is “just for you”. Case in point, here and here. Other instances have not been documented.

Does this make me a bad person? It’s a win-win situation really, I feel. I do like cake.

Moist Chocolate Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Icing

Chocolate cake: I used this one, but only a 2/3 batch. It made 21 decent sized cupcakes. I brought 15 to the party. Bake for 30 minutes at 150 degrees C.

This is quickly becoming my chocolate cake of choice, I think my previous problems with it were due to the uber-rich chocolate ganache. Also, I’ve realised I can make it as a one-bowl recipe, which, given my pre-established laziness, can only work in its favour.

Peanut Butter Icing:

Taken from Food.com, I used a half portion and had a bit left over (quantities below). Note that I don’t ice my cupcakes sky-high..They are domed from baking under the icing.

This is not excessively sweet and the peanut flavour is relatively mild, but everyone I asked said it was good as it was, and that didn’t need to be more peanutty.

1/2 cup butter – room temperature
1/2 cup peanut butter – I used Skippy Superchunk
2 cups icing sugar
1/8 cup milk
1 tablesp vanilla essence

  1. Blend the butter and peanut butter well
  2. Dump in 1 cup of icing sugar, and whisk until combined
  3. Add the milk and vanilla, blend again
  4. Add the last cup of icing sugar, and keep blending until it gets a bit stiff.
  5. If it is a bit soft to work with, stick it in the freezer for a couple of minutes and it’ll harden up. If you ice the cupcakes and put them back in the fridge, it sets to a nice, creamy but not-runny topping which held up well in the tropical heat.
Oh hello there

