Yeti Roast Vegetable Pasta

I was commissioned to make vegetarian dinner for the Yetis this past Sunday. And yes, hello, this is I, Annabel, back from the dead. I trust you’ve all been having a great year so far? Fab. I’m blogging from my iPhone 5. How #2013.

Lea got married, by the way, in December. Now she’s going to be all homely and stuff. Big change there!

I was inspired by Joanne and her delicious veggie meals. I thought this was a great way to wind down the week: with a heapful of roast vegetables.

20130129-230948.jpg

  • 175g large spiral pasta
  • 1 zucchini
  • a slice of Japanese pumpkin/squash(see picture)
  • 1 very large Portobello mushroom
  • 2 medium sized button mushrooms
  • 1 bell pepper
  • 1 carrot
  • 1 head of broccoli
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 5 cherry tomatoes
  • 1 small onion for taste
  • Oregano, rosemary, salt and pepper

The recipe is as follows:

  1. Arrange the vegetables chopped and sliced on a roasting tray. Smash the garlic cloves and wedge in between. Sprinkle the onions on top
  2. Toss the vegetables in a drizzle of olive oil. Make sure that there is enough oil to cover the vegetables evenly
  3. Sprinkle the herbs and salt and pepper casually over the veggies. Toss again.
  4. Throw in a pre-heated oven for 30 minutes at 180 degrees Celsius.
  5. While the vegetables are roasting, boil the pasta. Large spirals cook quite quickly I’ve noticed so be careful.
  6. When all’s been cooked, toss the drained pasta into the vegetables and toss again. You can add a little of the pasta water if the vegetables are too dry for you, which they were for me. The pasta water adds a little “sauce” to the mix. This was something I picked up on Iron Chef America, which I have been obsessed with lately.

Mrs Yeti interfered at this point and added a drop of cream. Initially, I protested but she insisted most vehemently and we all know that there’s no stopping her.

In the end, I didn’t think it wasn’t very creamy at all – not enough to compel me to head to the gym at least – but it definitely looked like it had partially stepped forth from a Nigella Lawson cookbook. Omit the cream if you so wish!

20130129-230544.jpg

Oh hello there

