Strawberry Balsamic Reduction

Otherwise known as “what I thought would be a waste of strawberries”.

Strawberries are pretty much perfection all on their own – they don’t need anyone fiddling around with them. Why would anyone waste good strawberries by cooking them?

Hence, I don’t really appreciate things like strawberry ice cream, strawberry pie, strawberry sauce, strawberry jam. Because I feel that it would have been better to gorge oneself silly on fresh strawberries.

Are you sure this is a good idea? Doesn't look like much but omg

But. I happened to buy a box of cheap strawberries, and some of them were pretty mushy. You know that feeling where you open the box and the middle part is all mushy and you feel really really sad? Yes, well. That was me.

However, I must not waste strawberries. I had heard strawberry balsamic reduction mentioned before on food blogs – but never really thought it was worth the strawberries. However, given that I had mushy strawberries, I figured I may as well give it a shot.

Oh my goodness.

My tastebuds have never known such heaven.

I need to make a cheese cake now, just to share this discovery with others. If all the strawberries in the world were 2D black and white movies, these are 3D technicolour with motion seats.

I ate mine over unsweetened greek yoghurt and some peaches / plums that I got from the market for $1 (for a whole box!!! more on that later)

Oh so unattractive pictures * embarrassed*

*cough* I ate it again later with caramel and macadamia ice cream.

Cheating Strawberry Balsamic Reduction

I don’t have a source for this, I just winged it based on the words “caramelised strawberry balsamic reduction”

1/2 a punnet of strawberries, washed and halved
1 tablesp balsamic vinegar
3 heaped teasp brown sugar

  1. I put everything in the toaster oven for 15 minutes on 200 degrees C. Halfway, take it out and stir. 
  2. Leave it to thicken as it cools. Control yourself, it’s really hot and you can easily burn your mouth / fingers.
Oh hello there

